Installing RIFT via Wine in Linux.

So i noticed that RIFT went Free 2 Play, and since i only use Linux, i really wanted to get it working…..and i did! So i will try and put down the steps i followed to get it working well. I know a few people may have problems doing so, but we will work them out as we go.

THE STEPS:

1.) I am running Wine ver 1.5.31 <– add the repo from http://winehq.org, and get updated. (if you dont have the latest version already)

2.) I am running Peppermint Linux OS Four 32bit, and as a fresh install i was missing a few things. I had to install “libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0” via “sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0“. This step solved a issue that i would get while just running it with my intel card on my laptop. The game would load, but there would be no coloring, and all the shadows were grey and black. Installing this fixed that, and i got all color back.

3.) I had to run winecfg and set the windows version to “Windows 7”.

4.) I then had to install a few things with winetricks:

winetricks vcrun2008

winetricks d3dx9

winetricks vcrun2005

5.) I then just ran “winetricks” in the terminal by itself and the GUI opened up. I had to set a few options in here.

First when the window opens, go to “Set the default wine prefix

then go to “Change Settings

then select the following things in the list.

ddr=opengl

glsl=enabled

multisampling=disabled

orm=fbo

Then press the OK button. It will change all the wine settings.

6.) Now we need to install RIFT. I noticed the installer from their website would not load in wine for me. I had to grab it from this link: http://update2.triongames.com/patcher/public/Rift_LIVE_Patcher_setup.exe . Download this and run it with “wine Rift_LIVE_Patcher_setup.exe“, or you might just be able to right click on the file in your downloads folder and just select open with wine.

7.) once it installs it will ask you to log in (Make an account if you dont have one on their site). Then once you sign in, you can start the updating / downloading of the entire game. It does get to a point where it says the game is playable, but i just let it finish. (I would let the game fully download, because when you try to load your character, it will give you an error “Unable to Download More Data”) But if you let it download completely it wont be a problem.

So that is pretty much the setup and the install. There are a few more things i need to explain. When the game starts up for me, it Flashes franticly during the movie intro, and loading screens. I once found a way to fix that, but the solution was pointing to editing a file that i cannot seem to find anymore. Now in the game settings, i had to run the game on low graphics, and check off “Low Quality Rendering” in the Settings menu under “VIDEO”, then “ADVANCED”. Besides the video flickering during loading screens and movies, the game runs amazingly, at 1600×900 fullscreen on my laptop.

Now for people who have the Optimus setup, and would like to use the NVIDIA card. Mine was throwing a fit at first, and wouldn’t let me load it via “optirun wine riftpatchlive.exe“. It would give me a msvcp90.dll error. So i ended up messing around with it, and found that using primusrun was working. So i just decided to make a bash script in my “RIFT Game” folder, called “opti-rift“, then i added the following

#!/bin/bash

primusrun wine /home/chuck/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/RIFT\ Game/riftpatchlive.exe

Then i saved it, and did “chmod +x opti-rift“.

Notice where it says “chuck” (thats me)… change it to your username. If you have a 64bit computer, you obviously need to change “Program\ Files/“, to “Program\ Files\ \(x86\)/“, unless you are running a 32bit wine bottle.

Making this script allowed me to make a shortcut on my desktop as well. If you get into any issues with getting a shortcut to work properly, i will help out. ALSO note, that while using the Nvidia card to run RIFT in wine, that the game will complain when you get into your character menu about your Nvidia drivers being OUT OF DATE. Just ignore that. It doesn’t recognize Linux nor your Video Driver version.

I hope this is helpful, and i will be expecting to hear from you with errors and such. Hahaha, it always happens, but I will be here to help you out.

Image

As you can tell in the picture, my character is named Mintylinux ;D. You can find me on the Hailol server.

-Orkultus-

46 comments on “Installing RIFT via Wine in Linux.

  1. therogueliker says:

    Thanks for taking the time to write this small guide. Wine is an extremely powerful software that could solve 95% of the complaints of people that says “I cannot switch to Linux because I want to be able to play games!”; we need more guides like yours to show people that gaming on Linux is a very real thing!

    • orkultus says:

      Well i am glad this post ment something to you, and yeah with very little tinkering, you would be amazed how many games actually run very well in Wine. Some dont run on MAX settings, but they run well enough to be playable.

  2. orkultus says:

    OK, so i just noticed that while trying this on my 64bit Linux Mint 15 desktop. Did the steps in the walkthrough, but then when i pressed play, it said “err:module:import_dll Library d3dx9_43.dll (which is needed by L”C:\\Program Files (x86)\\RIFT Game\\rift.exe”) not found” … easy fix…open up winetricks again, and go to “Set the default wineprefix”.. then go to “Install a Windows Dll or Component”, then go down and check off “d3dx9_43.dll”, and then press OK. The game should load up fine. Then go in and change your video options in the game menu.

    -Orkultus-

  3. orkultus says:

    Also noted that going in and out of fullscreen mode to window mode works pretty well. Haven’t had a problem with Xorg spazzing out.

  4. orkultus says:

    Server was down most of the day today, but i managed to login after it came back up to test it on my 64bit Linux Mint 15 Desktop. Works like a charm 🙂

  5. orkultus says:

    After doing some further testing with RIFT on my Desktop, which has a GTX 550Ti 2GB Nvidia card (with latest graphics drivers), that i noticed it runs well and all, but i do get some wierd graphical glitches, such as the animations for fire seem to move, pause for a split second, and then move, and pause. Also graphical glitches such as say im looking at the top of a RIFT, and the storm is moving, and i slowing move my mouse to turn my character…i get a line stream of the storm shooting down to the ground, and ive noticed that other objects do this as well.

    As with my laptop that has a Geforce GT 640M 2GB, running on Optimus mode with primusrun, i dont seem to have any graphical glitches what so ever. Although it does seem to lower a bit more in FPS, when a ton of people are all fighting off a rift with me.

    All in all, the game works well enough to enjoy. For me anyway.

    PS: If anyone is trying this walkthrough and uses a ATI card, please let me know how your experience is going! Thanks!

    -Orkultus-

  6. patrick says:

    Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0x00000100 in 32-bit code (0xb745a6a5).
    Register dump:
    CS:0073 SS:007b DS:007b ES:007b FS:0033 GS:003b
    EIP:b745a6a5 ESP:0033f2e0 EBP:0033f858 EFLAGS:00210246( R- — I Z- -P- )
    EAX:00000000 EBX:b75c0000 ECX:ffffffff EDX:00000100
    ESI:0033f890 EDI:00000100
    Stack dump:
    0x0033f2e0: 0033f890 7df807be 00000002 00000000
    0x0033f2f0: 00000020 00000011 0033f3a8 7bc37603
    0x0033f300: 00000000 00000000 0015bde8 7bc376ed
    0x0033f310: 00000003 0000012c 0033f358 7bc6e198
    0x0033f320: 00000000 0015bed4 0000002a 001506ee
    0x0033f330: 0000012c 00000000 00000000 00000000

  7. patrick says:

    It will load & go through the log in process but crash seconds after hitting the play button. I’ve tried Win7, 8 & Xp modes? Any ideas where to start?
    Thanks in advance

  8. Whitney says:

    After hours, I got it to run. I get to the character creation screen and everthing is there… but the character. The menus, the green tube swrill thing and the two flames. No character. Also, when I go “back” and go into settings, it wont let me change my settings from “Custom.” Thoughts?

    • orkultus says:

      I had the same issue. No Character. I had to go into the settings, and i got my resolution changed, but in order to see anything i had to check off the little box in settings that says “Low Quality Rendering”. I then restarted, and i could see my character and such. Also i am running this game on two machines with Nvidia Cards. Im not sure what you are using, but i know i haven’t tested it on a ATI.

  9. greenbel says:

    thanks for this tutorial, actually i want playing ragnarok nor RIFT, i wish this configuration want work u_u

  10. Maarten says:

    When i start the game, i get the flickering as described. But After that the screen is blue with white letters, so there is no way i can check/uncheck anything. How do you fix this?

  11. The Green Arrow says:

    When I have the launcher up and hit play (after completely downloading the game) it closes and reopens the launcher, performing no other action.

    I followed your steps exactly.
    My specs

    CPU~Dual core AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) clocked at Min:777.000Mhz Max:1400.000Mhz Kernel~3.8.0-28-generic x86_64 Up~4:09 Mem~537.1/3553.1MB HDD~500.1GB(4.0% used) Procs~153 Client~Shell inxi~1.8.4

    • orkultus says:

      I am going to install it on my Desktop really fast and take a look. I will follow my exact steps. I have had that issue with the opening and closing before, but i forgot what i did to fix that. I will let you know what i come across.

      Computer Specs:

      from “cat /proc/cpuinfo”

      CPU:
      processor : 0
      vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
      cpu family : 16
      model : 10
      model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1100T Processor
      stepping : 0
      microcode : 0x10000dc
      cpu MHz : 3292.561
      cache size : 512 KB
      physical id : 0
      siblings : 6
      core id : 0
      cpu cores : 6
      apicid : 0
      initial apicid : 0
      fpu : yes
      fpu_exception : yes
      cpuid level : 6
      wp : yes
      flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter
      bogomips : 6585.12
      TLB size : 1024 4K pages
      clflush size : 64
      cache_alignment : 64
      address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
      power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb

      from “cat /proc/meminfo”

      Memory:
      MemTotal: 16435432 kB
      MemFree: 14925452 kB
      Buffers: 111880 kB
      Cached: 627484 kB
      SwapCached: 0 kB
      Active: 832412 kB
      Inactive: 451336 kB
      Active(anon): 545244 kB
      Inactive(anon): 9348 kB
      Active(file): 287168 kB
      Inactive(file): 441988 kB
      Unevictable: 0 kB
      Mlocked: 0 kB
      SwapTotal: 16775164 kB
      SwapFree: 16775164 kB
      Dirty: 768 kB
      Writeback: 0 kB
      AnonPages: 544384 kB
      Mapped: 147016 kB
      Shmem: 10212 kB
      Slab: 59772 kB
      SReclaimable: 34524 kB
      SUnreclaim: 25248 kB
      KernelStack: 2976 kB
      PageTables: 16244 kB
      NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
      Bounce: 0 kB
      WritebackTmp: 0 kB
      CommitLimit: 24992880 kB
      Committed_AS: 2068248 kB
      VmallocTotal: 34359738367 kB
      VmallocUsed: 331976 kB
      VmallocChunk: 34359393276 kB
      HardwareCorrupted: 0 kB
      AnonHugePages: 0 kB
      HugePages_Total: 0
      HugePages_Free: 0
      HugePages_Rsvd: 0
      HugePages_Surp: 0
      Hugepagesize: 2048 kB
      DirectMap4k: 124608 kB
      DirectMap2M: 3020800 kB
      DirectMap1G: 13631488 kB

      from “lspci | grep VGA”
      GPU:
      02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti] (rev a1) 2GB

  12. Ranz says:

    Followed the steps, finished the download and patch over night. This morning when I went to check on it, I signed in, hit play… it said waiting… then downloading with 15 seconds remaining and then nothing. Back to the hit play button.

    • orkultus says:

      I removed my .wine folder, and i will try the install again by following the exact same steps. I will let you know what happens to me.

      • i1057 says:

        Do you know what is wrong? ’cause I have the same problem every time I press the “Play” button and your tutorial is the one that works best for me and I don’t know what to do now.

      • orkultus says:

        Well for starters i just noticed on my desktop that i have WINE 1.7 installed. So apparently the installer doesn’t want to load with that version. I had to use PlayonLinux to install wine ver 1.5.3. I will let you know when i get it updated.

      • orkultus says:

        Ok so it did it to me as well.. i just went into the RIFT installed folder under my .wine location, and ran it like so “wine ./rift-live.exe”..it loaded up the launcher, and when i pressed play it loaded up the game.

    • orkultus says:

      This seems to be a problem with a few Linux users as well.

      • 501_KrilleY says:

        Did you ever find a fix for this? Just installed Rift on my newly installed Ubuntu 12.04, followed all your steps perfectly, nothing wrong there, but when I hit play, it just says “waiting” for a few seconds, then skips to “Downloading”, and then it’s like it just resets, and I can press Play again… 😦

  13. i1057 says:

    Thank you so much!!!! :D, now it loaded and I played a little. But, One more thing, there’s no audio. I don’t know if you can help me with that.

    • orkultus says:

      I am glad it started for you and you were able to play. As for the sound, i have to ask, are you using alsa or pulseaudio? Also in winecfg, under sound..it has an option to select the sound “driver” or sound server. Try selecting the one you are using, even though it may say “default”. If that is not the solution, then let me know.

      Thanks!

      -Orkultus-

  14. Toast says:

    Hey,
    Whenever I try to run RIFT I get all the way to the login, enter my credentials and hit login. At this point an error comes up and RIFT is forced to close. How do I fix this?
    Thanks!

    • orkultus says:

      Are you running 64bit or 32bit? Also what is your version of Wine? as well as what version of windows is wine set to?

      • Ieht says:

        this happens to me to. my version of wine is 1.7 and it is set to windows 7. as to if i’m running 64bit or 32bit i don’t know, my father installed my laptop and he dislikes gaes very much so he won help me install rift. could you tell me were i can check this so i can tell you. mabye than i can get to playing rift

  15. bonzodog says:

    After the 2.5 update today, I am getting serious rendering problems. The game is more or less unplayable.
    The only clue from terminal is the error:
    “fixme:d3d:resource_check_usage Unhandled usage flags 0x8”

    I am using an Optimus system on Ubuntu 12.10, using primusrun.

    • bonzodog says:

      Ok, a little bit of digging has revealed that this problem is due to them making alterations to the shaders they are using. Not sure how we could fix this, but D3d is having real problems with it. Windows users are complaining on the forums that it has caused massive slowdowns on older systems.

    • bonzodog says:

      Further to my last comment, I have found another error in the logs which could be more significant –

      “err:ntdll:RtlpWaitForCriticalSection section 0x7e640ca0 “wined3d_main.c: wined3d_cs” wait timed out in thread 0038, blocked by 0029, retrying (60 sec)”

      This might mean something to you, but it seems to be an error in wined3d_main.c?

  16. […] via Installing RIFT via Wine in Linux.. […]

  17. Wolf says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

  18. Steve says:

    Hey everyone, just wanted to see if you all could lend some advice. I have Manjaro Linux and I am trying to get Rift going. The game installs and runs, but I randomly get grapical glitches that make the game nearly unplayable. I have tried many different settings through winecfg and winetricks. I have taken a screencast and I have run an i-nex if you guys need my system info and such. Please let me know if there is anything to try.

    • orkultus says:

      I myself haven’t had RIFT installed in a while, but i should get it installed again. I just have such a small hardrive, and its hard to fit everything i use on it. Let me see if i can get it installed on my Laptop running Xubuntu 13.10 64bit. I will let you know if i get any graphical errors..I know i did before, and i had to change a setting.

    • Krem says:

      I’ve just retried playing RIFT since upgrading my Ubuntu (I don’t install it actually, it’s installed parallely on Windows partition that I mount), but it has loads of particle glitches that were also there 3 months ago. The glitch looks very simple to describe – particles are out of place, and seem to want to get everywhere. There’s also another glitch, where the character from Rift shop’s splash screen renders even as the window is closed, but then it renders black and only on the sky (everything but sky is rendered in front of it).
      I’m using 32 bit desktop Ubuntu with wine 1.6 and Nvidia Geforce GTX650 (again it’s desktop, I don’t have any optimus). And if it sounds like “I have no idea what you’re talking about”, then well, I’ll live.

  19. You should be making this into a winetricks verb.

  20. all16478 says:

    i followed the steps and it still crashed :/

  21. orkultus says:

    For some reason the old installer wont download the QT4 files, when it patches. I think that installer is too old now. The new installer from the website, “Glyphinstaller” or whatever pops up a very small window that says “install”. Then you click on OK, and it just exits. So i am not sure if i can get this new installer to cooperate, but i am going to try.

  22. HarryDotter says:

    Hey, still curious about this too. 64bit Kubuntu, R9 280X 6GB, If installed as Win7 I get the same QT error you’re seeing. If set to WinXP it installs and works up to a point. I download and hit play and I get the intro movie. Once the loading screen hits is random at the % but always closes to desktop with no error handler message when it gets to the selection authentication accepted (little white words upper left corner). That’s as far as I can get it to go ;(

  23. HarryDotter says:

    Oops, forgot… using playonlinux, tried both bit versions of game and same thing. Tried with version 1.5.31 and latest 1.7.26.

  24. orkultus says:

    Ok i am going to go about this another route.. Since i noticed that you can download rift through Steam (Windows Version via WINE), I will try it there.

Leave a Reply

