Linux Mint 14 upgrade to Linux Mint 15

So i am trying to upgrade from Linux Mint 14, to Linux Mint 15, by following these steps.

1.) sudo sed -i 's/quantal/raring/' /etc/apt/sources.list

2.) sudo sed -i 's/nadia/olivia/' /etc/apt/sources.list

3.) sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

4.) sudo apt-get upgrade

5.) sudo shutdown -r now

As for when it asks me if i want new configuration files, i will press Y. I will let you all know how my upgrade process went. Ive never had any luck going from one version of mint to the next, without having to re-format.

-Orkultus-

16 comments on “Linux Mint 14 upgrade to Linux Mint 15

  1. orkultus says:

    Well my upgrade to Linux Mint 15 went pretty well. I had no start up issues, and it just went back to my normal background and icon settings before the switch. So i haven’t noticed anything yet. If i do i will keep you posted. I hope others go through this with no problems as well! I cant garauntee that every system will upgrade the same way. It always seems like some computers take it harder than others, but i wish you the best of luck!

    -Orkultus-

  2. Well I tried it too and it seem to be working great.. thanks for the info..

  3. […] https://orkultus.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/linux-mint-14-upgrade-to-linux-mint-15/ I came across the following instructions on upgrading. I was the middle of the night and I was […]

  4. Cybso says:

    Successfully upgraded from 14 to 15, even on a manually installed LVM+LUKS encrypted system.

  5. skybinary says:

    I am not sure I can upgrade, I have had to lock certain packages for compiz to work, so I can only imagine that would either hinder the upgrade or my compiz environment.

    • orkultus says:

      What desktop environment are you using? I am running the cinnamon environment, and i run the desktop with “effects off”. So im not exactly sure about how it could mess up compiz. I stopped using compiz for desktop effects along time ago. Specially after they got rid of the awesome extensions.

      -Orkultus-

  6. Tapu Afrad says:

    I am using 14 KDE. Can I upgrade to 15? BTW, I’ve upgraded KDE to 4.10.4.. If possible please reply.

    • orkultus says:

      I think you will be ok. My cinnamon desktop went to the latest version with no problem. Even if you have a later version of KDE than mint 15 has, i dont think it will replace it.

      -Orkultus-

  7. brett says:

    okay what happened with me.
    during the upgrade my screensaver activated and when I reactivated the screen ………………NO TERMINAL….
    so it was fault to take the advice of some cleverperson.

    so anyone trying this I have 2 pieces of advice.
    1. install as root. type su in the terminal and get root permissions…….
    2.before you start deactivate all powersaving settings.

    I am just waiting to see the hard disk light stopping as now I am blind.
    lucky I am typing the warning to this clever advice on my backup machine.

    latest on restart
    hdd stopped flashing.
    typed sudo apt-get upgrade but nothing……fearful silence.

    okay restart the machine. and…..the root prompt with nadia 14.

    so i type again sudo apt-get upgrade

    and get some useful advice that dpkg didnt finish and to type a command in.

    sudo dpkg –“-something” –a which I did
    and the installation began again.
    as root so depmod -d worked it was blocked as I satrted the install as user not root.
    and…finally got a restart to an olivia startup screen woohooo.
    then restarted into cinammon olivia
    but with nadia 14 background. errr.
    so this would have to be one of the most robust OSs ever.woohoo
    and its brettproof.

  8. Rohit says:

    nothing happen here, i follow above steps.. still on Nadia..
    any sujestions??

  9. shawnhcorey says:

    According to the `man apt-get` page:

    * When you do a `sudo apt-get dist-upgrade`, it will do a `sudo apt-get upgrade` automatically. No need to do it yourself.

    * A `sudo apt-get dist-upgrade` might replace some of the packages with newer versions. You should do a `sudo apt-get update` immediately after a dist-upgrade so that your apps will work with the newer versions.

  10. Roger Foss says:

    Yup, mostly worked for me. A couple of notes:

    First, you should run the apt-get dist-upgrade in a console terminal session. Stupidly, I did the initial run in a Yakuake konsole session within KDE, but since one of the processes the upgrade process wants to terminate is kdm, I cancelled, pressed Ctrl-Alt-F1 and ran in it in that console session.

    Second, I had mounted several CIFS shares under a /shares folder but they didn’t work, even though my /etc/fstab file was kept intact. The reason is that Mint 15 has a newer 3.8 kernel, and this requires the addition of a sec=ntlm for the cifs share mounts.

    Third, Amarok failed because a mysql databased failed to start up (to be honest, I can’t remember if it did work before)

    all in all, fairly minor stuff.

Leave a Reply

