Linux Mint install on my Acer Aspire V3-771G-6851

Ok so i might have to do this in a few parts. I will do my best to try and cram it all into this post

Ok, lets start. So the second this laptop came out of the box, i plugged it in, and started it up. I had noticed that with UEFI enabled, there was no options to go into bios. It just started booting windows 8 right away. So i ended up having to start up Windows 8 and getting it’s “first run” all prepared just so i could shut it down to be able to turn off UEFI.

After the laptop finished with it’s windows 8 loading, i had to (Hold Shift), while clicking the restart button, which enabled a pop up screen that had a button for changing UEFI settings. I clicked it, and it restarted the computer and i ended up in BIOS. So while in BIOS i found where it had said UEFI enable / disable, so i turned it off, and made the boot options read from cd/dvd drive as the first drive. Windows 8 no longer booted.

I then put in my Linux Mint 14 64bit Cinnamon edition live cd, and saw the Linux Mint boot menu show up after the grub loading screen. I went to select “Start Linux Mint”, and noticed it started loading and such, but then my screen went entirely black..and it wouldn’t turn on. Even after the cd had stopped spinning and the hardrive light was not flashing. The screen was still solid black. So i did some searching around, and found that adding “nomodeset” to the grub boot line would “Sometimes” allow me to make it to the desktop. I had success with Peppermint OS Three with kernel 3.2, but Kernel 3.5 with Linux Mint 14 wasn’t having it. I had to do some further research and found that setting “i915.modeset=0” would get me to the desktop so i could install. Even though with i915.modeset=0 was enabled, it was still a problem. I couldn’t logout of the desktop nor press “CTRL + ALT + F2” to get to a command prompt. The laptop would just show a white screen, and i couldn’t get back to the desktop. So i figured i had to find a mode that i could set that would fix that issue. I had finally figured out that using “acpi=off” on the grub line, was working very well. I had no issue while logging out or going to the console screen. We all know that using “acpi=off” isn’t a smart idea to do all the time. It disables the fan power to your cpu. It’s good for installing Linux on a picky computer, but that’s about it. This laptop does not have the option to turn acpi off in the BIOS.

I will explain more about an “acpi=off” issue later.

Anyway!..i got Linux Mint 14 installed with “acpi=off“, but after the install i still had to add “acpi=off” to the grub line. So right as i see the acer screen pop up after it’s just started from a restart, i had to press and hold “SHIFT” until after i saw the “Loading Grub 2.0” text, then the grub menu appears. I highlighted the first choice in the list, and pressed e to “edit the commands”. In the Line where it says Linux, somewhere right behind “Quiet Splash” i had to add “acpi=off“, then press F10 to boot it. This let me get to my new install of Linux Mint 14. Now since i was still in “acpi=off” mode, i still had to find a better solution. I finally found one after a few hours of deeper research. This time i had to make this permanently added to grub so it would always load up with this option. Here is how i did it

1.) opened a terminal, and did “sudo gedit /etc/default/grub

2.) In line 11, it should look like this GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash”   We need to change this to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor”

3.) save the file after you have added it.

4.) Everytime you edit grub you must run this command “sudo update-grub

5.) You should now be able to restart and it should boot back up to your desktop with no problems on it’s own!

Next Post!….Dealing with the Onboard Nvidia Optimus…wee!

-Orkultus-

18 comments on “Linux Mint install on my Acer Aspire V3-771G-6851

  1. orkultus says:

    So im sure the reason for the screen being all black during boot was the nouveau driver being loaded as default, when the actual running card was the intel HD 4000.

  2. Vertebestiole says:

    Thanks a lot for your tutorial!
    I had the same problem, the laptop was booting correctly but the screen went black. I could access the login menu if an external screen was connected, but I couldn’t solve the issue.
    Now Debian is booting properly, thanks!

  3. Adrian says:

    OMG… Thank you very much, this tutorial is fantastic! I’m in the same situation with my Acer 771g

  4. Serge V. Sh. says:

    It seems that acpi behavior corrrected in latest kernel (3.5.0-26, as of writing this comment).
    I’ve checked off acpi=Linux and acpi_backlight=vendor 10 minutes ago and I see OSD while controlling LCD backlight level 🙂

    There is one little bug still there: backlight does not turn on on DM startup (it’s always off). Workaround: you just need to press Fn+Right one time after you hear “tin” on DM prompt (or when you see, that backlight is completely off)

    Many thanx for your Optimus’ guide, man )

  5. Aha says:

    Many thanks, had the same problem and this worked perfectly. Have fun with your bike!!!!

  6. koldar says:

    Hi! I have bought an Aspire V3 771G too and it’s getting me an headache! I have currently installed windows8 in the PC but now I want to gain access to the BIOS! Can you please tell me exactly when hold Shift? It is when i press Windows 8 restart button? or when i click the Acer Utility Restart button? Sorry for being a total n00b but all i want is to get a nice win8-ubuntu dual boot!
    Thanks for your time!

    • orkultus says:

      Yes, you have to hold SHIFT, to get the advanced settings for the restart options. You should then see a screen for UEFI settings. Click it, and it should send you to BIOS. You then can disable UEFI in BIOS, and enable and disable it. Before we go and change anything around though, i would like you to check this out. https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI (Under the section “Installing Ubuntu in EFI mode”). Im not using “Ubuntu”, so i had to follow things a bit differently. Ubuntu i think now has a way of installing it in the UEFI Fastboot mode, without having to change any settings. Follow that walkthrough and see if you can install it from what they give you. My option is for Linux distro’s that dont have this UEFI support.

      I hope this helps out, and good luck. I will stand by for any more questions you may have.

      -Orkultus-

      PS: It says to use the 64bit version. So keep that in mind.

    • koldar says:

      nono.. i’m sorry for my n00bness… I resolved my question myself. You can locate the solution at this link: http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/open-advanced-startup-options-windows-8.htm

  7. Dokta says:

    OMG Thank you su much was searching over Months and now did i find your Tutorial.
    (Acer Aspire V3 771, Intel HD3000)

  8. Michael Stowell says:

    Thank you so much! This helped me get Ubuntu 13.04 working on my aspire!

  9. Jordy says:

    Bonsoir, quelqu’un saurait ou je pourrait trouver les drivers de mon ASPIRE V3 771… il est en Win8 je veux le mettre en Debian, cependant j’aurais besoin des pilotes apres …

  10. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I
    came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and fantastic style and design.

  11. sorlokreaves says:

    Your post was invaluable for me in getting my 772G running Linux Mint. Thanks!

    I had to add another kernel parameter, however:
    modprobe.blacklist=nouveau

    …because nouveau kept throwing a fit (even though I wasn’t using it). This only happened with Linux Mint 16, though, so maybe it’s unrelated to the 772G?

Leave a Reply

